Photo of Saint Aidan

The Anglican Catholic Church is the Canadian Province of the Traditional Anglican Communion. "Anglican" simply means "English" in Latin. Our branch of the Catholic Church is as old as the Roman Catholic branch and nearly as old as the eastern catholic, or Orthodox branch of the universal Church. Legend suggests that Joseph of Arimathea brought the catholic faith to England and that Aristobulus was consecrated the first Anglican bishop by Saint Paul before St. Peter reached Rome.

Historic documents list three Anglican bishops as in attendance at the Council of Nicea in 325.

In 596 the Bishop of Rome, Gregory the Great, saw fair-haired, blue-eyed slaves on display in a Roman market. He asked where they were from, and when he was told about the British Isles, he instructed St. Augustine of Canterbury to travel to England to bring the Christian Faith. Imagine the surprise of St. Augustine when he arrived to discover the Anglican Church firmly established with cathedrals, monasteries, parish churches, and a valid apostolic succession of Bishops, Priests, and Deacons.

Our jurisdiction was formed in 1977 by Anglican bishops, clergy, and faithful to preserve traditional Anglo-Catholic doctrine and forms of worship in the face of rampant changes in liturgy, morality, and Order, by liberals within the Church, which threatened the historic Apostolic Succession.

The Traditional Anglican Communion has dioceses and parishes in Canada, the United States, England, Ireland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, India, Central and South America, the Torres Straits and Australia. We are in full communion with the Forward in Faith parishes of the Church of England and the Episcopal Church of the United States of America . By preserving the faith once delivered to our fathers, the jurisdiction has ensured the continuation of the Anglican expression of the Catholic Faith.